In 1922, the National Defence Act (NDA) was passed by the Parliament of Canada to enable the organization and funding of the Canadian military. From this Act, the Department of National Defence was formed through the merging of the Department of Militia and Defence, the Department of the Naval Service, and the Air Board. On 1 February 1966 the Canadian Forces Reorganization Act (CFRA), also referred to as Bill C-243, was implemented to amend the previously established NDA. After passing the CFRA, the federal government outlined a goal to unify the Canadian Army, the Royal Canadian Navy, and the Royal Canadian Air Force. The three separate entities were now to be combined and encompass what we now refer to as the Canadian Armed Forces.

According to the New Brunswick Military History Museum, the unification of the CAF resulted in Camp Gagetown changing its name to Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Gagetown. Moreover, with increased spending being introduced to the Base, post-unification eventually saw the Combat Training Center (CTC) created within the base. Furthermore, in the early 1970s both 422 and 403 helicopter squadrons were relocated to CFB Gagetown from CFB Petawawa. The unification of the Canadian Forces brought many challenges and changes in traditions, symbols, and identity.